Compare savings & fixed deposit rates in Nigeria

By the Rateweb editorial team · How we rate · Product details checked 1 Aug 2026

Compare where to grow your money in Nigeria — the leading savings & investment platforms. Important: the fintech apps here (PiggyVest, Cowrywise, Risevest and similar) are SEC-regulated FUND/investment platforms, NOT banks — your money is invested (money-market funds, Treasury bills or global assets), so returns are higher but they are NOT NDIC-insured. Bank fixed deposits are NDIC-insured but lower-yielding. Returns shown are indicative and not guaranteed — confirm current rates with the provider, and never invest money you can't afford to lose.

⭐ Ratings & awards are Rateweb's independent editorial opinion — how we rate.

🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Filter & sort
16 results
Best for mutual funds

Cowrywise

SEC-licensed platform with the widest access to mutual funds (naira + dollar), plus automated and Halal savings. Not a bank — not NDIC-insured.
★★★★☆
4.3/5 · How we rate
SEC-licensed platform (not a bank)
Regulation
Not NDIC-insured
Deposit Safety
~7–20%/yr (fund-dependent)
Typical Return
Mutual funds, naira + dollar, Halal
Best For
instant
Access
Pros
  • SEC-licensed; largest pool of mutual funds
  • Naira + dollar funds, plus Halal options
  • Strong automation and transparency
Cons
  • Not a bank — NOT NDIC-insured
  • Returns vary with the fund and are not guaranteed
  • Locked plans limit access before maturity
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account/monthly feeNone
Fund management feeApplies (varies by fund)
Early withdrawalLocked plans forfeit interest before maturity
Eligibility
  • 18+ Nigerian resident
  • Active BVN
  • A Nigerian bank account to fund and withdraw
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID (NIN, passport or driver's licence)
  • Phone number / selfie for KYC
Visit Cowrywise Full details & review →
Most popular

PiggyVest

Nigeria's most-used savings app (≈6m users) — strong on saving discipline, with higher-yield investments via Investify. SEC-registered, not a bank.
★★★★☆
4.2/5 · How we rate
SEC-registered (not a bank)
Regulation
Not NDIC-insured
Deposit Safety
~5–20%/yr savings; up to ~35% invest
Typical Return
Saving discipline + auto-save
Best For
instant
Access
Pros
  • Excellent for building a saving habit (auto-save, locks)
  • Higher rates than banks (money invested for you)
  • Huge user base + track record
Cons
  • Not a bank — NOT NDIC-insured
  • Higher investment returns carry higher risk
  • Safelock/target funds are locked until maturity
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly feeNone
Early-withdrawal feeOn locked Safelock/Target before maturity
InvestifyProduct-level fees vary
Eligibility
  • 18+ Nigerian resident
  • Active BVN
  • A Nigerian bank account to fund and withdraw
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID (NIN, passport or driver's licence)
  • Phone number / selfie for KYC
Visit PiggyVest Full details & review →
Most established

Stanbic IBTC Asset Management

A long-established, SEC-regulated asset manager (bank-backed) — money-market and mutual funds plus Treasury bills. Institutional-grade, but a fund, not a bank deposit.
★★★★☆
4.1/5 · How we rate
SEC-regulated asset manager (bank-backed)
Regulation
Fund, not an NDIC deposit
Deposit Safety
Money-market fund ~12–18%/yr
Typical Return
Established, institutional trust
Best For
instant
Access
Pros
  • Long-established, bank-backed asset manager
  • Money-market fund (T-bills/commercial paper) + mutual funds
  • Institutional-grade governance
Cons
  • A fund, not an NDIC-insured deposit
  • Returns track market rates and are not guaranteed
  • App/UX less slick than the fintech apps
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Fund management feeApplies
Monthly account feeNone
WithdrawalPer fund terms
Eligibility
  • 18+ Nigerian resident
  • Active BVN
  • A Nigerian bank account to fund and withdraw
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID (NIN, passport or driver's licence)
  • Phone number / selfie for KYC
Visit Stanbic IBTC Full details & review →
Best for dollar

Risevest

SEC-registered platform for dollar-denominated global assets (US stocks, real estate, fixed income) held via US custodians — higher potential return, higher risk.
★★★★☆
3.8/5 · How we rate
SEC-registered (US custodians)
Regulation
Not NDIC; FX + market risk
Deposit Safety
~7–10%/yr in USD (+ naira upside)
Typical Return
Dollar / global exposure
Best For
fixed
Access
Pros
  • Dollar exposure hedges naira depreciation
  • Access to US stocks, real estate and fixed income
  • Assets held via US-based custodians
Cons
  • Higher risk — equities/real estate can fall
  • FX and market risk on top of platform risk
  • Not NDIC-insured
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Management feeAnnual fee (no per-trade commission)
FXNaira-to-USD conversion spread
AccessSome plans locked for a set term
Eligibility
  • 18+ Nigerian resident
  • Active BVN
  • A Nigerian bank account to fund and withdraw
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID (NIN, passport or driver's licence)
  • Phone number / selfie for KYC
Visit Risevest Full details & review →

i-invest

A fixed-income-focused platform — Treasury bills, Eurobonds, commercial paper and fixed deposits in one app. Good for the lower-risk end, but still not a bank deposit.
★★★★☆
3.6/5 · How we rate
SEC-regulated platform
Regulation
Not NDIC-insured
Deposit Safety
T-bills ~17%/yr (indicative)
Typical Return
T-bills, Eurobonds, fixed income
Best For
fixed
Access
Pros
  • Direct access to T-bills (FGN-backed) + fixed income
  • Lower-risk end of the spectrum
  • One app for several fixed-income products
Cons
  • Platform itself is not NDIC-insured
  • Fixed terms limit access to your money
  • Yields track CBN rates — they move
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeNone
Product feesMay apply per instrument
AccessFixed terms limit early access
Eligibility
  • 18+ Nigerian resident
  • Active BVN
  • A Nigerian bank account to fund and withdraw
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID (NIN, passport or driver's licence)
  • Phone number / selfie for KYC
Visit i-invest Full details & review →
Best for saving and borrowing in one app

FairMoney Savings

The savings side of FairMoney's lending-led app, run through a CBN-licensed microfinance bank with NDIC-insured deposits. Four plans — flexible (FairSave), locked (FairLock), goal-based (FairTarget) and a dollar option (FairDollar) — with some of the most aggressively advertised rates in the market.
★★★★☆
4.1/5 · How we rate
None for savings plans
Monthly Fee
CBN microfinance bank
Licence
NDIC-insured (to ₦2m, MFB tier)
Deposit Safety
Locked savings alongside quick loans
Best For
digital
Type
Pros
  • Flexible, locked, goal and dollar plans in one app
  • Deposits sit in a licensed microfinance bank with NDIC insurance
  • Advertised locked-savings rates are among the highest in the market
Cons
  • The brand is lending-first; the app pushes loan offers alongside savings
  • Headline rates apply to locked tenors — flexible savings earn much less
  • A microfinance bank, so NDIC cover is the lower ₦2m tier, not a commercial bank's ₦5m
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account/plan feeNone advertised
Early withdrawal from locked plansBreaks the plan's interest terms — check in-app before locking
Eligibility
  • Nigerian resident with a smartphone
  • Valid BVN
  • 18 or older
Documents needed
  • BVN and phone number
  • Valid government-issued ID for full verification
Visit FairMoney Full details & review →

Optimus by Afrinvest

A savings-and-investment app from the Afrinvest stable, offering flexible (OptiFlex) and locked (OptiLock) plans plus treasury bills, commercial paper and naira/dollar equities. The operator states it is SEC-licensed as a funds/portfolio manager, with funds managed by Afrinvest Asset Management.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
None advertised
Monthly Fee
SEC funds/portfolio manager (stated)
Licence
Investment products — capital at risk, not NDIC deposit insurance
Deposit Safety
Stepping up from saving into fixed income
Best For
digital
Type
Pros
  • Backed by Afrinvest, a long-established Nigerian investment house
  • Low entry point — flexible plans start from ₦1,000
  • Ladder from simple savings into T-bills, commercial paper and equities in one app
Cons
  • These are managed investments, not insured bank deposits — capital is at risk
  • Locked plans run 60 days to 2 years; money is genuinely tied up
  • Advertised plan rates are modest next to the money-market funds it competes with
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Plan feesNone advertised on savings plans
Early exit from OptiLockLock-in applies for the chosen tenor
Eligibility
  • Nigerian resident
  • 18 or older
  • BVN for identity verification
Documents needed
  • BVN
  • Valid ID
  • Passport photograph for account verification
Visit Optimus Full details & review →
Best for money-market investing

ARM Money Market Fund (ARM One)

A SEC-registered money-market mutual fund from ARM, one of Nigeria's oldest asset managers (30+ years), accessible through the ARM One app. Invests in short-term money-market instruments and government securities with a low minimum entry.
★★★★☆
4.2/5 · How we rate
None; fund management fee applies within the fund
Monthly Fee
SEC-registered unit trust; ARM is a SEC-registered fund manager
Licence
Mutual fund — capital at risk, not an NDIC-insured deposit
Deposit Safety
Parking cash at money-market yields
Best For
digital
Type
Pros
  • SEC-registered fund run by a manager with over 30 years' track record
  • Low minimum initial investment and small top-ups
  • Underlying assets are short-term, high-quality money-market instruments
Cons
  • Not a bank deposit — no NDIC insurance and yields move with the market
  • Management fees inside the fund reduce the return you actually receive
  • Withdrawals settle through the fund, so access is slower than a bank account
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Entry feeNone advertised
Fund management feeCharged within the fund; see the fund prospectus
Eligibility
  • Open to individuals; minors can be covered via parents/guardians
  • BVN required
  • Nigerian bank account for redemptions
Documents needed
  • Valid ID
  • BVN
  • Passport photograph and bank account details
Visit ARM Full details & review →

UBA Target Account

A goal-based savings account from UBA, a full-service CBN-licensed commercial bank, built for saving towards a defined target such as school fees or a wedding. Tiered interest rewards larger balances, and interest is forfeited if you dip in more than four times in a month.
★★★★☆
3.9/5 · How we rate
No maintenance fee advertised on the product page
Monthly Fee
CBN commercial bank
Licence
NDIC-insured (to ₦5m, commercial bank tier)
Deposit Safety
Disciplined goal saving with branch backup
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Big-bank safety: commercial-bank NDIC tier plus a nationwide branch network
  • Tiered interest that rises with your balance
  • Full channel access — app, USSD, debit card and counter withdrawals
Cons
  • ₦50,000 minimum opening and operating balance is steep for small savers
  • Interest is forfeited after the fourth withdrawal in a month
  • Advertised rates trail the digital savings apps this account competes with
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Opening balance₦50,000 minimum (also the minimum operating balance)
Excess withdrawalsMore than 4 in a month forfeits that month's interest
Eligibility
  • Open to salary earners, traders, students and other individuals
  • Ability to hold the ₦50,000 minimum balance
Documents needed
  • Completed account-opening form
  • Valid ID (passport, driver's licence, voter's card or national ID)
  • Recent utility bill and passport photograph
Visit UBA Full details & review →

GTBank Savings (GTSave / GT Target)

Guaranty Trust Bank's savings stable spans an everyday account (GTSave), a goal-based plan (GT Target) and youth accounts, all inside one of Nigeria's largest CBN-licensed commercial banks with the strongest retail app reputations among the incumbents.
★★★★☆
3.9/5 · How we rate
Standard CBN-regulated savings tariffs apply
Monthly Fee
CBN commercial bank (GTCO group)
Licence
NDIC-insured (to ₦5m, commercial bank tier)
Deposit Safety
Goal saving inside a big-bank relationship
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Full commercial-bank safety net and NDIC cover at the ₦5m tier
  • GT Target adds structured goal saving on top of the ordinary GTSave account
  • Deep channel mix — internet banking, mobile app, *737# USSD and branches
Cons
  • Savings rates at the big incumbents sit well below digital-app headline rates
  • Goal accounts discourage early withdrawal — dipping in costs you interest
  • Branch-grade paperwork if you want more than a basic tier
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account maintenancePer CBN's regulated bank-charges guide
Early withdrawal (GT Target)Breaking the savings pattern affects interest earned
Eligibility
  • Individuals resident in Nigeria
  • BVN required
  • Minors via Smart Kids Save with a parent/guardian
Documents needed
  • Valid ID
  • BVN
  • Passport photograph; utility bill for full-tier accounts
Visit GTBank Full details & review →

First Bank Savings Account

The entry-level savings account from Nigeria's oldest bank, an NDIC-listed commercial bank. First Bank's product page states zero account opening amount and a N100 minimum operating balance, with the paperwork handled at any branch.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
None stated on the product page — confirm before opening
Monthly Fee
CBN-licensed commercial bank (NDIC commercial-bank register)
Licence
NDIC-insured — cover up to N5m per depositor (2024 limit)
Deposit Safety
Savers who want a large nationwide branch network behind their account
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Zero account opening amount and a N100 minimum operating balance, per First Bank's page
  • Transactions can be carried out at any FirstBank branch nationwide
  • Clear upgrade path to FirstSavings Plus, a hybrid savings-current account with cheque access
Cons
  • The interest rate is not published on the product page — you have to ask before opening
  • Opening is form-led: download, complete and submit at a branch, slower than app-first rivals
  • Digital onboarding lags the fintech savings apps already on this page
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account openingN0 (per First Bank's page)
Minimum operating balanceN100 (per First Bank's page)
Monthly maintenanceNot stated on the product page
Eligibility
  • Every individual can apply, per First Bank's page
  • Joint accounts available via a separate joint-holder form
Documents needed
  • Valid ID (BVN, national ID, international passport or driver's licence)
  • Utility bill (electricity, water or rent receipt)
  • Two passport-sized photographs
Visit First Bank Full details & review →

Union Bank UnionSave

Union Bank's starter savings account, opened from N2,500. The bank's site advertised 7.95% per annum at the time of this review, but the account carries deposit caps that mark it out as an entry tier rather than a main store of savings.
★★★★☆
3.9/5 · How we rate
None stated on the product page — confirm before opening
Monthly Fee
CBN-licensed commercial bank (NDIC commercial-bank register)
Licence
NDIC-insured — cover up to N5m per depositor (2024 limit)
Deposit Safety
Students and first-time savers starting with small amounts
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Advertised 7.95% per annum on Union Bank's site at the time of this review — check the current figure before opening
  • Low N2,500 minimum opening balance, per the bank's page
  • A clear ladder upwards: UnionSave More and UnionSilver lift the caps as your balance grows
Cons
  • Capped: N50,000 maximum single deposit and N300,000 maximum daily cumulative balance, per the bank's page
  • N1,000 daily minimum operating balance must stay in the account
  • Advertised savings rates move with the rate environment — the published figure can lag
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Account opening balanceN2,500 minimum (per Union Bank's page)
Minimum operating balanceN1,000 daily (per Union Bank's page)
Monthly maintenanceNot stated on the product page
Eligibility
  • Individuals, including students and first-time savers
  • Bank Verification Number (BVN) required
Documents needed
  • Duly completed account opening form
  • Passport photographs
  • BVN and valid means of identification
Visit Union Bank Full details & review →

Stanbic IBTC Bank Personal Savings

The bank's own transactional savings account — a different product from the Stanbic IBTC asset-management money-market funds already listed on this page. Per the bank's page there is no minimum opening balance, savings earn interest, and cash can be withdrawn anytime with no notice period.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
Not stated on the product page — confirm before opening
Monthly Fee
CBN-licensed commercial bank (NDIC commercial-bank register)
Licence
NDIC-insured — cover up to N5m per depositor (2024 limit)
Deposit Safety
Savers who want bank-deposit safety with everyday access, not a fund
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • No minimum opening balance, per Stanbic IBTC Bank's page
  • No notice period — withdraw or transfer anytime
  • Full channel access: mobile app, internet banking, *909# USSD and a debit card
Cons
  • The interest rate is not published on the product page
  • Easy to confuse with Stanbic IBTC's money-market fund products, which are investments, not NDIC-insured deposits
  • Fees are not itemised on the product page
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Minimum opening balanceNone (per Stanbic IBTC Bank's page)
Monthly maintenanceNot stated on the product page
Eligibility
  • Individuals resident in Nigeria
  • Can be opened via *909#, the mobile app or internet banking
Documents needed
  • Two passport photographs
  • Valid means of identification
  • Utility bill showing physical address
Visit Stanbic IBTC Bank Full details & review →

Wema Bank Personal Savings

The traditional-branch savings account from Wema Bank, whose digital arm ALAT is listed separately on this page. Per Wema's own support portal, you keep the month's interest as long as you make no more than four withdrawals in that month.
★★★★☆
3.8/5 · How we rate
Not published online — confirm with the bank
Monthly Fee
CBN-licensed commercial bank (NDIC commercial-bank register)
Licence
NDIC-insured — cover up to N5m per depositor (2024 limit)
Deposit Safety
Savers who want a long-established bank branch behind a simple savings book
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Interest retained on up to four withdrawals a month, per Wema's support portal
  • Long-established commercial bank on the NDIC register
  • Goal-based sister products (SmartSave) and a youth account (Purple) under the same roof
Cons
  • The headline rate published in Wema's support material is dated and low — confirm the current rate before opening
  • Exceeding four withdrawals in a month forfeits that month's interest
  • Wema's main site publishes very little product detail — most figures must be confirmed in-app or in-branch
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenanceNot published online — confirm with the bank
Withdrawal ruleInterest forfeited for the month after more than 4 withdrawals (per Wema's support portal)
Eligibility
  • Individuals resident in Nigeria
  • BVN required
Documents needed
  • Duly completed account opening form including signature mandate card
  • BVN and one passport photograph
  • Valid ID and evidence of residential address
Visit Wema Bank Full details & review →
Non-interest

Jaiz Bank Savings (Mudarabah)

Nigeria's pioneer non-interest bank, on the NDIC's non-interest bank register. Savings run on the Mudarabah partnership model: instead of interest, the bank invests deposits in Shariah-compliant ventures and shares the profit with you monthly at a ratio agreed when you open the account.
★★★★☆
4.0/5 · How we rate
Not published on the bank's site — confirm in-branch
Monthly Fee
Non-interest bank (NDIC non-interest bank register)
Licence
NDIC-listed insured institution
Deposit Safety
Savers who avoid interest on principle and want profit-sharing instead
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • A genuine alternative for savers who do not take interest: Mudarabah profit-sharing, not an interest rate
  • Profit distributed monthly based on your balance and the pre-agreed sharing ratio
  • Longest-running non-interest bank in Nigeria, listed on the NDIC register
Cons
  • Returns depend on the bank's investment performance — there is no fixed, guaranteed rate
  • The profit-sharing ratio is agreed at account opening and is not published online
  • The website publishes very little product detail — minimums and fees must be confirmed with the bank
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenanceNot published on the bank's site
Profit-sharing ratioAgreed at account opening; not published online
Eligibility
  • Individual applicants (the model is open to customers of any faith)
  • Account operates under Mudarabah terms agreed with the bank
Documents needed
  • Standard bank KYC (valid ID, photograph, BVN) — confirm the exact list with Jaiz, as it is not published on the site
Visit Jaiz Bank Full details & review →
Non-interest

LOTUS Bank Savings (Mudarabah)

A newer Lagos-headquartered non-interest bank on the NDIC's non-interest bank register. Savings operate on Mudarabah profit-sharing rather than interest, with the usual digital channels (*5045# USSD, mobile and online banking) attached.
★★★★☆
3.8/5 · How we rate
Not published on the bank's site — confirm with the bank
Monthly Fee
Non-interest bank (NDIC non-interest bank register)
Licence
NDIC-listed insured institution
Deposit Safety
Ethically-minded savers in the south who want a non-interest option beyond Jaiz
Best For
traditional
Type
Pros
  • Shariah-compliant profit-and-loss sharing savings rather than interest
  • Modern digital channels: *5045# USSD, mobile app and online banking
  • On the NDIC's register of insured non-interest banks
Cons
  • A young bank with a smaller footprint than the big commercial names on this page
  • Publishes little product detail online — sharing ratios, minimums and fees must be confirmed
  • Returns are not fixed; they depend on the performance of the bank's financing
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenanceNot published on the bank's site
Profit-sharing ratioAgreed with the bank; not published online
Eligibility
  • Individual applicants (open to customers of any faith)
  • Account operates under Mudarabah terms agreed with the bank
Documents needed
  • Standard bank KYC (valid ID, photograph, BVN) — confirm the exact list with LOTUS Bank, as it is not published on the site
Visit LOTUS Bank Full details & review →
📖 Want the full picture? Savings & Fixed Deposits in Nigeria (2026) — our in-depth editorial guide. Read the guide →

Ratings are Rateweb's editorial opinion. Product details can change — always confirm with the provider before applying. Rateweb may earn a commission on some applications. This is general information, not financial advice.

People also compare